johnnyflyback

Howler is the new Indie band to watch out for in 2012

In Uncategorized on January 12, 2012 at 4:29 pm
The Band

The New Record America Give Up coming out 1/17/12

So, on my way back from my trip the other day from London to Vegas, before I boarded the plane, I was scratching my bum trying to figure out what the F to do because I had two hours to spare at Heathrow airport in London.

I sat, I observed, I got antsy, I wanted a drink so fucking bad, so I walked around, stopped at my favorite sandwich institution Pret a Manger. I was amongst a herd of sheep flocking for the same freshly made pre packed sandwiches, but I was the victor in securing the last Peking Duck with Hoisin sauce wrap with cucumber and scallions, take that you fat turds! So, I sat down devoured my sandwich, sprayed sparkling water all over myself and everyone around me because I still don’t know how to open a bottle that’s carbonated at the age of 36.

After making an explosion of a mess with my litter, I got the sweet tooth for some British chocolate, good old Cadbury’s, Maltesers, Terry’s chocolate orange and of course the latest issue of British indie rock bible NME (New Musical Express) . It was a special issue on the 100 hottest new bands to listen to. I started reading about Howler and was immediately fascinated. They had this very young yet accomplished Strokes thing going on and at the the ripe old age of 19, NME hailed Howler as the number 3  new band of 2011!  According to the band, they make pop music and add a bit of dirtiness to it. As soon as I had an Internet connection when I arrived back in Sin City,  I tried to get my hands on anything I could find. On the NME website I was able to find the track Back of Your Neck, which is the single off of their first album America Give Up, which will be released on Tuesday 1/17/12.

I must say, I was impressed by what I heard, they sound like a modern day Strokes with a lot more raw dirtiness, still in a very pop way. The band formed in 2011 out of Minneapolis, and released their first EP, This One’s Different, February 14, 2011 in the US and was later signed to Rough Trade Records that summer and released This One’s different August 2, 2011 in the UK. The band comprises of 5 members and even though the lead singer has a Bieber like haircut and the rest of the band look like school boys, they have a very nonchalant sensibility that make them different from a lot of the formulaic bullshit out there. Even the drummer is rumored to be the son of Pop Icon Prince. To get the latest news and tour dates from the band please click here.

 Press Play to watch the Back Of Your Neck video from Howler.

Leave a comment