johnnyflyback

An Optical Retrospective

In Uncategorized on October 23, 2011 at 5:03 am

Ok, so I know at this point I must look like I work for the Cosmopolitan Hotel of Las Vegas, what can I say, I am there everyday and I can’t help it if they have the most unique retail on the Vegas strip. Working with Jason of Beverly Hills as the brand ambassador has garnered me many relationships that I have personally been able to build in the last year.
In this particular case, I don’t care, I’ll just come out and say it. I am the biggest sunglass slut on the planet. It doesn’t help that the best sunglass and eyeglass store in the world Retrospecs and Co is right across from our Jason of Beverly Hills Boutique at The Cosmopolitan Hotel of Las Vegas. My addiction with sunglasses started when i was sixteen and I didn’t give a shit on how much anything costs. I blew through hundreds of pairs of expensive glasses over a ten year period. Today, because I am older, fatter and more grey, I do give a shit where I spend my dough. 
Once I realized what Retrospecs and Co was all about, I made a vow to myself that this is the only place I will ever buy my sunglasses and eyeglasses period! The GM of the store, Gene Williams has become a great friend and has really taken all my money schooled me on what the best sunglasses are, especially vintage. Retrospecs and Co are in a class by themselves. They have the most beautiful Maison that houses original sunglasses and eye wear from the early 1900’s to the late 1980’s. I am broke thanks to Gene and have 7 pairs of original spectacles from all different time periods It’s funny, once I bought my seventh pair I told Gene, “I finally have a different pair for every day of the week” and he responds by saying “you know there are 30 days in a month”. Everything made today is a cheap knock off of the past and Gene has all the original icons like Rayban before it became duche Bausch and Lomb to the original Dior, that everybody wants but think they can’t afford. When you pick up a pair of original frames from back then you can see the artistry and construction is so solid and has lasted a lifetime and will last many more, if you not a complete twat idiot and treat them with respect.

The relationship we built is so cock rock solid with Retrospecs and Co, that it propelled us to do a co-branding effort where Jason Of Beverly Hills took a vintage pair of sunglasses in white gold from Retrospecs and diamond out the top of the frames. Jason of Beverly Hills was so inspired by  a pair of vintage Rayban Waferers at Retrospecs and Co that he manufactured them in white gold and black gold with white diamonds and black diamonds and hung them off a pendant and literally sold them the day after we received them at the store. 

If your in the market for the best glasses in the world, pull up your socks, get outta the house go see Gene at Retrospecs at The Cosmopolitan Hotel of Las Vegas, he will treat you like family, give you an education and an experience where you will be able to see the world through historic specs.

For more info on Retrospecs please click here

Leave a comment