johnnyflyback

A Real American From Switzerland!

In Uncategorized on November 1, 2008 at 1:08 am



People, I am very excited about this. About two years ago, I had the unique opportunity to view the prototype of this incredibly sophisticated watch by Vacheron Constantin. The only thing was that it was very different from anything I have ever seen produced by the brand, even though it was originally produced in 1921 for the American market. Finally, the moment has come and this production is a reality. When I had the opportunity to see the prototype, it was white gold, cushion shaped, nostalgia pouring out of it, and a crown that was located at the one o’clock position near the very lug that the strap was connected to. The dial was this incredibly white enamel dial with the boldest fluid arabic numerals which absolutely blew me away.

In my ideal world this would be 45 mm, but hey I didn’t design it did I? This feeling I had overwhelmed me when I saw it, I mean it made me want to buy a vintage car, and have a vintage suit, and act in some Woody Allen Film, set in the nineteen twenties. Very rarely do vintage watches have that effect. Normally vintage watches are cool, but never evoke an emotion to make me want to do other things.

So, the name of this watch is the Vacheron Constantin Historique American 1921. As far as I know, this watch is available in a limited production in 18k Rose Gold, which has so much depth, and is very rich in color. The watch sits 40 mm in case diameter, the unique placement of the crown gives it character and sets it apart from any fine wristwatch manufactured today. The movement of the watch just like in the roaring twenties, is a manual wind movement and in house manufactured, which is a Vacheron Constantin caliber 4400 that includes a 65 hour power reserve, and the most important seal of excellence, the very prestigious Hallmark De Geneve is stamped on it, ensuring the highest level of quality and craftsmanship. The dial, well lets just say it’s just as important and well finished as the movement. Even though the original dial from the twenties was enamel and extremely white, this dial achieves a similar vision without being so stark. This dial has a unique personality as it is slightly shifted to the right, and is silver satin finished and sand blasted, with hand painted fancy black arabic numerals dancing of the dial, like words off a page. This is to be fitted with the finest black crocodile strap and a rose gold buckle to match the 18k rose gold case.

As far as I am concerned, the new Vacheron Constantin Historique American 1921, is the finest dress watch out there today with a taste of the twenties and proving once again to the world that it’s a real American from Switzerland!

Pics courtesy of http://www.timezone.com

  1. Great post, nice job really showing your true love of the watch makes it seem like the watch is truly a piece of art and not simply a tool to tell time.

  2. I love this VC! Personally, I am always attracted to watches that have a classic beauty but with an interesting twist, and this one fits the bill perfectly! It says so much about the gentleman that wears it-pure class. Great article and a good, astute call, JF!Best,Elliot EastonpsI love your blog, Johnny F!!!

Leave a comment