johnnyflyback

Calling All Watchmakers

In Uncategorized on June 21, 2008 at 12:59 am

OK, so I know that finding a good watchmaker these days is virtually impossible to find. I mean it’s really a dying art. I am all for watch brands priding themselves on having the best watchmakers in the world, but lets be honest this new ad for Omega’s watchmaker recruitment using George Clooney is just down right ridiculous.

I thought George Clooney was a classy actor with some nads, not some out of work actor that needs the money so he appears looking like a psycho in a watchmaker ad. I know there is supposed to be some sort of sex appeal about George Clooney,but I don’t think watchmakers can ever look sexy, creepy? definitely! I guess he is also the brand ambassador for Omega, and I suppose when you got a magic formula you try to milk it, but unfortunately for Omega this marketing tit has been dried out as far as I am concerned.

Omega should try and focus more on the brand itself and less on the people to try to regain some much needed momentum because they really are the best pure value in the watch industry today!

pic courtesy of http://www.omega.com

Leave a comment